lips2If you are like me and 99% of the population alive currently on Earth, then you have probably experienced a horrible cold sore once or twice. Maybe you get them several times a year. Cold sores are fucking horrible. They swell and hurt and take FOREVER to go away.

I have tried probably every OTC medication for cold sores available, and none of it every works for me, which sucks because that stuff is super expensive. If I’m paying nearly $20 for a tube of ointment as big as the tip of my finger, it should at least relieve the pain or something, ammiright?

Recently, my son got a really nasty cold sore that lasted about two weeks and was awful. Nothing relieved the pain or made it go away faster. Shortly after, I got one myself on my bottom lip. I was fed up. Sure something has to get rid of these things!

So, I did some research. It turns out that there are a few things that can shorten the life of a cold sore. So, I experimented. First and foremost, Peppermint Essential Oil is by far the best solution. Not only does the oil kill the virus, but it numbs the pain. Oh sweet baby Jesus does it numb the pain. Hallelujah. Luckily I had a little vile of peppermint essential oil that my Mom had given me to keep the spiders away because I’m terrified of spiders (does anyone know if that actually works by the way?).

Anyway, after experimenting and doing a lot of research, I came up with this recipe for a lip ointment that.. I swear you guys, not only does it shorten the life of the cold sore, but it feels amazing. It numbs the pain for a long time. It also promotes healing, moisturizes, and protects your lips. I was so proud of myself. I’m not even an essential oils girl, I’m not into natural remedies and I rarely believe that magic plants can have healing powers – but seriously, this works.

So, let’s get this train moving.

allWhat you will need:

  • Vaseline (or beeswax, we will get to this later, keep reading)
  • Coconut Oil
  • Vitamin E oil
  • Peppermint Essential Oil
  • A containment vessel for your ointment
  • Something to mix the ingredients, microwave safe

 

vaseline

 

Vaseline – As you can see, I have the off-brand from War-Mart. Any kind will do. Now, if you want your ointment to be more like a chapstick with a more solid consistency, you can use beeswax instead of vaseline. I personally liked the vaseline better because it really protects your lips and keeps them from getting dried out, especially while you’re sleeping. The worst thing is to wake up in the morning with dried, cracked sores. Black.

coconutoil

 

Coconut oil – any kind will do. This one I think I scored for a few bucks at Wal-Mart. If you’d prefer to use an organic coconut oil, that’s up to you. Whatever you have on-hand will probably be just fine.

Coconut oil supposedly helps to destroy the bacteria that causes the blister. I have never used this in isolation to treat a cold sore, so I cannot say definitively that this is true, however, this ointment is amazing, so maybe?

 

Eoil

 

Vitamin E oil – I bought this at Target, it is the Target brand that they carry in their stores. Again, any kind of E oil should work perfectly for this. You will only need a few drops, so if what you have on-hand is running low, you should not need to run out and buy a new bottle.

 

 

pep oil

Peppermint Essential Oil – This particular bottle of essential oil was given to me by my Mom, she bought it from a friend who makes her own essential oils. You can buy peppermint essential oil on Amazon for under $10. Please make sure that you are getting essential oil and not peppermint extract like you would use for baking, it is not the same thing. You will only need a few drops.

 

 

 

What you need to do:

You will mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl or microwave safe container. I used a Dixie cup from my bathroom and it worked perfectly. You are going to mix the following:

  • 1 Tablespoon of coconut oil
  • 1 table spoon of vaseline (or beeswax, if you decided to go that route)
  • 5 drops of Vitamin E oil
  • 6-7 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil

Mix these together well.

Place in the microwave for 10-15 seconds. If your microwave tends to cook things quickly, only leave it in for 10 seconds.

Remove from the microwave and stir really well. It is going to be runny. The idea is to incorporate the ingredients really well.

ointmentAfter you have finished stirring this concoction, you are going to pour it into your containment vessel. I use a plastic apothecary jar that I had in my purse. You can get these at War-Mart for under a dollar in their travel toiletries section. Any small container will suffice, though. Maybe an old mint container or a makeup jar.

Let this sit for at least an hour, and you can stick it in the refrigerator if you’d like to to stiffen up faster. Unless you used beeswax, it will not harden. It will stiffen up, but it will have the consistency of an ointment. It is not oily or gross to put on your lips, but it is not hard like chapstick.

Put this on your lips several times a day and it will relieve pain and clear the cold sore up much faster than anything else that I have tried. It makes your lips feel cool and tingly, but it doesn’t sting.

I hope that this works for you as well as it has for me!

Quit pro tip – don’t get peppermint essential oil in your eye. It stings like hell. It feels like you took your eyeball out, stuck it in the freezer for a few hours, and then popped it back in the socket. It is both euphoric and horrible. Take my word for it.

Please do subscribe by signing up with your email or following this blog on Facebook (link to follow is in the right sidebar, or if you are on a mobile devise, at the bottom of this page) You can also find me on Instagram @SarcastaBlog but don’t judge me based on the amount of wine that I post there…